Welcome to the 1844 Council

Print Friendly

This spring, the Correctional Association welcomed the first members of the newly formed 1844 Council. Chaired by former 1844 Medal recipients Evan A. Davis and Herbert J. Sturz, the Council is a group of socially concerned citizens who have demonstrated their interest in changing the way society deals with crime and its consequences by providing or encouraging significant financial support for the work of the Correctional Association.

By establishing the Council, the Correctional Association recognizes with gratitude the recipients of the Association’s 1844 Medal and other loyal donors whose generosity fuels the work of the Association. Each year, members will join one another at a special reception held in their honor. They will also enjoy seating at an 1844 Council table at the 1844 Medal Award benefit and receive special mailings several times throughout the year highlighting recent Association accomplishments. Membership in the Council is renewable annually.

Throughout its impressive history, the Correctional Association has flourished in large part due to committed citizens whose financial and philosophic support have guided its work. From early members Jacob H. Schiff, Harry Payne Whitney and Theodore Roosevelt to the 1844 Medal recipients and other generous donors today, all have worked to further the Correctional Association’s mission–to provide oversight of the prison system and to strive for a more fair, efficient and humane criminal justice system.

By providing an opportunity for camaraderie in support of the Association’s work, as well as inspiration for continued financial contribution, the 1844 Council will help ensure the mission and the future of the Association for many years to come.